Product detail

The Young World

The Young World

Author: Chris Weitz
Series: The Young World
$16.99(AUD)  inc GST
Available Stock: 0
Description

Welcome to New York, a city ruled by teens.

After a mysterious Sickness wipes out the rest of the population, the young survivors assemble into tightly run tribes. Jefferson, the reluctant leader of the Washington Square tribe, and Donna, the girl he's secretly in love with, have carved out a precarious existence among the chaos. But when another tribe member discovers a clue that may hold the cure to the Sickness, five teens set out on a life-altering road trip to save humankind.

The tribe exchanges gunfire with enemy gangs, escapes cults and militias, braves the wilds of the subway and Central Park . . . and discovers truths they could never have imagined.

Promotion info

Only teens have survived a mysterious catastrophe in the first YA novel from acclaimed film producer, director, and screenwriter Chris Weitz

Reviews
Although this may not be the first time a post-apocalyptic, teenage-run world has been written about, it is one of the best in the genre. Chris Weitz has his finger on the pulse when it comes to cultural references and his fantastically diverse characters pop out of the action-packed pages. Narrated by two protagonists, Jefferson and Donna, this rollercoaster of a story demands to be read in one sitting. Highly recommended. Booktrust It is not difficult to imagine this as a punchy, all action blockbuster... The violence is well handled and not too graphic and various ever-changing romantic liaisons are portrayed with realistic angst and tears. The action concludes with a suitable cliff-hanging scenario, and this will be excellent for fans of Hunger Games, Chaos Trilogy and The Faze. -- Stephen King The School Librarian
Author description

Chris Weitz is the director of Twilight: New Moon, A Better Life, About a Boy, The Golden Compass, and American Pie. The Young World is his first novel.

Stock Information

General Fields

  • : 9781907411809
  • : Little, Brown Book Group
  • : ATOM
  • : July 2015
  • : 198mm X 131mm X 27mm
  • : United Kingdom
  • : September 2015
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Paperback
  • : en
  • : 813.6
  • : 384
  • : Chris Weitz