Product detail

A Natural History of Dragons: A Memoir by Lady Trent

A Natural History of Dragons: A Memoir by Lady Trent

Author: Marie Brennan
$16.99(AUD)  inc GST
Available Stock: 0
Description

Everyone knows Isabella, Lady Trent, to be the world's preeminent dragon naturalist. Here at last, in her own words, is the true story of a pioneering spirit who risked her reputation, prospects, and her life to satisfy scientific curiosity; of how she sought true love despite her lamentable eccentricities; and of her thrilling expedition to the mountains of Vystrana, where she made discoveries that would change the world.

Reviews

"Her Ladyship is a determined and canny woman in search of dragons--I wholeheartedly approve!"--Melanie Rawn, bestselling author of "Touchstone, "on "A Natural History of Dragons""Saturated with the joy and urgency of discovery and scientific curiosity.""--Publishers Weekly "(Starred Review)"If you've ever secretly wished dragons were real, this story is for you. Fans of Naomi Novik and Mary Robinette Kowal will especially enjoy this book.""--RT Book Reviews""Told in the style of a Victorian memoir, courageous, intelligent and determined Isabella's account is colorful, vigorous and absorbing. A sort of Victorian why-what-whodunit embellished by Brennan's singular upgrade of a fantasy bromide and revitalizingly different viewpoint.""--Kirkus Reviews""Lady Trent is the Jane Goodall of dragonkind, and I'm glad she's finally sharing her story with the world."--Jim C. Hines, author of "Libriomancer"""A Natural History of Dragons" stands somewhere between Naomi Novik and Elizabeth Peters, but rock-solidly in its own world and on its own terms. Highly recommended."--Daniel Fox, author of "Dragon in Chains"

Author description

Marie Brennan is the author of nine novels, including the Doppelganger and Onyx Court series. Her novel With Fate Conspire won Kirkus Review Best Fiction of the Year. She won two Isaac Asimov Award for Undergraduate Excellence in Science Fiction and Fantasy Writing Grand Prizes in 2003, and has received honourable mentions for Year's Best Science Fiction and Year's Best Fantasy and Horror.

Stock Information

General Fields

  • : 9781783292394
  • : NewSouth Publishing
  • : NewSouth Publishing
  • : January 2014
  • : 198mm X 130mm
  • : United Kingdom
  • : June 2014
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : English
  • : 813.6
  • : 352
  • : Marie Brennan
  • : Paperback