Product detail

The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society

The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society

Author: Mary Ann Shaffer
$19.99(AUD)  inc GST
Available Stock: 0
Description

It's 1946 and author Juliet Ashton can't think what to write next. Out of the blue, she receives a letter from Dawsey Adams of Guernsey - by chance, he's acquired a book that once belonged to her - and, spurred on by their mutual love of reading, they begin a correspondence. When Dawsey reveals that he is a member of the Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society, her curiosity is piqued and it's not long before she begins to hear from other members. As letters fly back and forth with stories of life in Guernsey under the German Occupation, Juliet soon realizes that the society is every bit as extraordinary as its name.

Promotion info

A New York Times bestseller, this has received a phenomenal response from the trade and public alike A new filmic jacket will inspire a new legion of fans to read this modern classic For readers of Maeve Binchy, Rosamund Pilcher, Joanne Harris and Mary Wesley - and fans of 84 Charing Cross Road

Reviews

'Charming ... one to lift even the most cynical of spirits' The Times 'Thronging with lovable people ... golden comedy' Guardian 'What a gorgeous book - very touching and funny' Joanna Lumley 'Delightfully spirited and quirky novel-of-letters ... You'd have to be pretty hard-hearted not to fall under its spell' Daily Mail Books of the Year

Author description

MARY ANN SHAFFER was born in 1934 in Martinsburg, West Virginia. She worked as an editor, a librarian and in bookshops. She became interested in Guernsey while visiting London in 1976. On a whim, she decided to fly to Guernsey but became stranded there as a heavy fog descended and no boats or planes were permitted to leave the island. As she waited for the fog to clear, she came across a book called Jersey Under the Jack-Boot, and so her fascination with the Channel Isles began. Many years later, when goaded by her own literary club to write a book, Mary Ann naturally thought of Guernsey. Mary Ann died in February 2008. She knew that this, her only novel, was to be published in thirteen countries. Before she died she wrote, 'I must tender special thanks to my niece, Annie, who stepped in to finish this book after unexpected health issues interrupted my ability to work shortly after the manuscript was sold. Without blinking an eye, she put down the book she was writing, pushed up her sleeves, and set to work on my manuscript. It was my great good luck to have a writer like her in the family, and this book could not have been done without her.' ANNIE BARROWS is the author of the Ivy and Bean series for children, as well as The Magic Half.

Stock Information

General Fields

  • : 9781408810262
  • : Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
  • : Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
  • : May 2010
  • : 198mm X 129mm X 16mm
  • : United Kingdom
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : 256
  • : maps
  • : Mary Ann Shaffer
  • : Paperback
  • : en
  • : 813.6